Dolores Quilts

Dolores Fegan Quilt Artist

Day 3 KHQS Adventures in quilting

Leave a comment

I was exhausted when I got home yesterday and did not get around to posting.  What a wonderful workshop.  If you ever get a chance Hollis Chatelain’s classes are well worth your time and money. The big reveal on how the dyes look once they are washed and dried.  Everyone got to share their pieces again once they were rinsed and dried.  Quite a difference.  Fuchsia and yellow sure do not fade.  Every one had really beautiful work.  My tree faded a bit more than I expected.  This was my own fault for putting dye paste over some of it.   I am please with the results and have it pinned and ready to add quilting.  This is where it will get to really be enhanced.  I will post a before and after of the nuthatch.  I will save the girl to show once she is fully quilted.  Right now she is being marked up for quilting.  The nuthatch is pinned and ready to begin.

DSCN3428 copy

We did not get time to do any sewing.  We watched Hollis do demonstrations and show us how to mark the quilts to figure out our quilting lines.  This is where we needed tracing paper and prisma colored pencils.  We spent all our time after lunch giving Hollis a real workout.  We all wanted her attention to check out our stitch ideas.  She was extremely helpful.

She will give guidance and help, but you have to put in an effort first.  I know I learned a lot from my mistakes and her encouragement.  Now off to sew!

Author: Dolores

Quilt Artist, Poet, Avid Gardener

Leave a Reply

