Dolores Quilts

Dolores Fegan Quilt Artist

12 by 12 challenge block 3

1 Comment

I started block 3 for the QAK 12 by 12 Photo Challenge on Wednesday and finished it on Thursday.  I was surprised to use three and a half bobbins  worth of thread for such a small project.    This is the original picture.

rockwallocean

My first idea was to simplify the picture and make a paper pieced quilt and fill in the details with stitching.  After designing and printing I change my mind and decided to do a reflective pattern.  After designing this and making a pattern, I just free hand cut the pieces and stuck them down with a glue stick.  Then I made an attempt to repeat the rock patterns on the columns with free motion quilting.  Next I filled in all the other rocks. I decided against a boarder and sewed a piece of fabric over the front all the way around. Then I made a slit in it and turned it right side out.  Here is a picture of the finished piece.  This one I really like.

DSC_0308

Author: Dolores

Quilt Artist, Poet, Avid Gardener

One thought on “12 by 12 challenge block 3

  1. Ooh, it’s gorgeous! I like your block better than the original picture. That’s a lot of thread, but I can see why with so much detail.

Leave a Reply

