Dolores Quilts

Dolores Fegan Quilt Artist

Sewing Hexagons by Machine

5 Comments

Yes! I knew it could be done.   Last year I was doing a skill builder of the month and spent lots of time trying to hand sew hexagons. I just can’t seem to get it right.  The fact that I have sever injuries to both index fingers now, is part of the problem  No feeling in one from cutting the end of in a hight school accident.  And yes ladies rotary blades are dangerous.  Cut a chunk out of my right index this year and still have immense pain when touching things.

Okay now that I’ve probably grosses every one out. Here is where to find a terrific tutorial.  Sewing Hexies by Machine     I tried it out and my starting results are below.  Thanks Jacqueline from Tallgrass Prarie Studio for the tutorial.

Now my results aren’t perfect but thats because I was practicing on the hexagons I’d previously cut.  They had been fused to a stabilizer hexagon and glue basted.  I did not practice sewing individual hexagons to a row but started with sewing two rows together.  It’s easy peasy! Right of course right.  Look before you leap and of set the hexagons so you don’t end up with a three demential mess.   I goofed starting put was easy enough to redo.  This really is a simple way to do hexagons.  One of my favorite things is that this makes seams easy to press open.   Thanks Jacqueline from Tallgrass Prarie Studio for the tutorial.

Author: Dolores

Quilt Artist, Poet, Avid Gardener

5 thoughts on “Sewing Hexagons by Machine

  1. Thanks for the link, Dolores! Looks like you are getting the hang of it. I’m gonna try it. Now stop injuring yourself.

  2. Thanks for the link. I have all the pieces cut out for a grandmother’s flower garden. I just haven’t started sewing them. This will make it go faster.

  3. I have seen instructions before on machine piecing hexies, maybe even the same one you linked. But I never tried it. How did you like machine piecing them? I understand about the sliced fingertip. I sliced a piece off one of my fingers with a veggie slicer. The entire fingertip was numb for at least a year and even now, years later, there is a numb spot right where the scar is. I use a lot of power tools so I’m just glad I still have all my fingers so I can still stitch.

    • Marti,
      I really like the way they went together. It goes pretty fast, but you have to work slowly and not overstitch. I hope to keep all my finger as well. Love power tools.

Leave a Reply

